Oh, LORD

This song really touched my heart this morning.  It’s a live version with Keith Green making the following comments before he started singing.

“On Monday night this week…about midnight I wrote a letter to the LORD.  I didn’t know where to mail it so I put it in my Bible.  I asked Him, ‘LORD You’ve got to do something about my heart.  You know a lot of time’s gone by since I met You and it’s starting to harden up…You know, it’s just kinda natural.  I wanna have baby skin, LORD.  I wanna have skin like a baby on my heart.  It’s starting to get old and wrinkled, calloused.  Not becasue of anything I’m doing.  It’s because of a lot of things I’m not doing.  And I stayed up til about 2  in the morning writing this song.”

Oh, LORD You’re Beautiful

Oh LORD, You’re beautiful
Your face is all I seek
For when Your eyes are on this child
Your love abounds to me

Oh LORD, my body’s tired
But You keep reminding me
Of many holy, tireless men
Who spilled their blood for Thee

Refrain:
I want to take Your Word and shine it all around
But first help me just to live it LORD
And if I’m doing well, help me to never make a sound
Except to give all the glory to You

Oh LORD, my faith is small
And I need a touch from You
Your Book of Books lies undisturbed
And the prayers from me too few

Oh LORD, please light the fire
That once burned bright and clear
Replace the lamp of my first love
That’s fueled with Holy fear

Leave a comment